Traditional fiestas – Romerías in Gran Canaria

Fiestas Romerías in Gran Canaria

To know the local people of any place means to know their traditions. Spice up your stay in Gran Canaria and visit some of our tradinal fiestas called romerías. If you come from April till October, you will have plenty of them to choose.

A romería is a religious pilgrimage and originally the word was derivated from the word “Rome”. Nowadays we understand romería (pilgrimage) mostly as a short trip of peregrination that finishes at a church, hermitage or sanctuary followed by festive celebrations.

Locals singing and dancing in traditional costumes, and something delicious to eat and drink cannot be missing, of course. Find here our complete list of Romerías in Gran Canaria for 2017.

MAY

  • Saturday 6.5.2017
    • El Sequero (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
    • El Calero (Telde)
    • Gáldar
    • El Faro de Teror
  • Saturday 13.5.2017
    • Tablero de Maspalomas
    • Cardones (Arucas)
    • Artenara
  • Saturday 20.5.2017
    • Motor Grande (Puerto Rico)
    • San Fernando (Maspalomas)
    • Gavia (Telde)
  • Tuesday 30.5.2017 – The Day of the Canary Islands
    • Fiestas in many places over all the island

JUNE

  • Saturday 3.6.2017
    • Mogán
    • Telde
  • Saturday 10.6.2017
    • Casas Blancas (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
    • Moya
    • Valsequillo – Tenteniguada
    • Telde
  • Friday 16.6.2017 – Los Corralillos (Aguimes)
  • Saturday 17.6.2017
    • Los Arbejales (Teror)
    • Valle de Agaete
    • Arucas
    • La Atalaya de Guía
    • Tasarte
    • Tenteniguada
  • Saturday 24.6.2017
    • Cercados de Araña
    • El Juncal (Tejeda)
    • Bañaderos

JULY

  • Saturday 1.7.2017
    • San Isidro (Teror)
    • Fataga
  • Saturday 8.7.2017
    • La Milagrosa (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
    • Las Huesas (Telde)
    • Risco Blanco (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
    • Arguineguín
    • Marpequeña (Telde)
    • La Dehesa (Guía)
    • Teror
    • El Goro (Telde)
  • Friday 14.7.2017 – La Banda (Aguimes)
  • Saturday 15.7.2017
    • La Isleta (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
    • Gáldar
    • Tunte, San Bartolomé de Tirajana
  • Sunday 16.7.2017 – maritime pilgrimage from Arguineguin to Mogan and back
  • Saturday 22.7.2017
    • Las Bachilleras (Telde)
    • Hornos del Rey (Telde)
    • Punto Fielato (Telde)

AUGUST

  • Friday 4.8.2017
    • Agaete
    • Lomo Magullo (Telde)
  • Saturday 5.8.2017
    • Marzagán
    • San Lorenzo (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
    • La Solana (Tejeda)
    • El Palmar (Teror)
    • Lomo Juan (Ingenio)
    • Taidía (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
    • Agaete
  • Sunday 6.8.2017
    • Santa Brígida
    • Lomo Magullo (Telde)
    • Aldea Blanca (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
  • Saturday 12.8.2017
    • Firgas
    • Ayacata (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
  • Sunday 13.8.2017 – Carrizal (Ingenio)
  • Saturday 19.8.2017
    • Soria (Mogán)
    • Fontanales (Moya)
    • Tunte (San Bartolomé de Tirajana)
    • Santa Brígida
  • Sunday 20.8.2017 – Artenara
  • Friday 25.8.2017 – Playa de Arinaga
  • Saturday 26.8.2017 – Siete Puertas (Tamaraceite)

SEPTEMBER

  • Thursday 7.9.2017 – Teror
  • Saturday 9.9.2017
    • Sardina del Norte
    • La Garita (Telde)
  • Sunday 10.9.2017 – Aldea de San Nicolás
  • Saturday 16.9.2017
    • Tejeda
    • Shamann (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
    • Valsequillo
    • Sardina (Gáldar)
    • Temisas
  • Sunday 17.9.2017 – Santa María de Guía
  • Wednesday 20.9.2017 – Vega de San Mateo
  • Saturday 23.9.2017 – La Goleta (Arucas)
  • Sunday 24.9.2017 – Vegueta (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
  • Saturday 30.9.2017 – Aguimes

OCTOBER

  • Saturday 7.10.2017
    • Aguimes
    • Telde
    • Valleseco
  • Sunday 8.10.2017 – Guanarteme (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
  • Saturday 14.10.2017
    • Lomo Galeón (Maspalomas)
    • La Isleta (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)
  • Sunday 15.10.2017 – Teror
  • Saturday 28.10.2017 – Vecindario

NOVEMBER

  • Saturday 18.11.2017 – Arucas

DECEMBER

  • Saturday 2.12.2017 – Jinamar (Telde)
  • Sunday 17.12.2017 – Santa Lucía de Tirajana